Tribute to Charlie Oelze

Charlie Oelze was a big part of my life. Moreover, he’s been a big part of many people’s lives; in particular, their childhoods and sense of imagination.

Charlie Oelize was the prop man for the Little Rascals. He made many of the devices and contraptions that became a staple on the program. I remember that I would watch the Rascals on Saturday morning, and then run out into my backyard to try and build some of his contraptions: a small clubhouse, car, etc. Needless to say, I would fail miserably.

The failure didn’t matter though. What Oelze provided me with was a sense of imagination. Even though I couldn’t create what he did, he instilled in me the desire to do so. This desire has carried me forth to other endeavors and has given me a passion to live life to the fullest.

Every stove needs a fire. Every fire a spark. Every skyscraper, an architect with a bold dream.

Here is a great example of Oezle’s work—a silent Little Rascals episode entitled, “Cat, Dog, and Co.” In particular, watch the scene from 20 seconds to one minute. Absolutely brilliant.

 

2 thoughts on “Tribute to Charlie Oelze

  1. You don’t suppose he was the man behind this favorite of mine….
    “The International Silver String Submarine Band”?

    Thank you for bringing back some of the best memories of my childhood. 😀

    1. “You don’t suppose he was the man behind this favorite of mine….
      “The International Silver String Submarine Band”?”

      Good question. My understanding is that he did most of the major prop work.

Leave a Reply

