When you speak to your child, do you talks about politics? Do you talk about relationships? French films? Of course you don’t. You talk about things you both understand: cartoons, food, etc.

Do the same thing with adults. Talk about the common ground you share with them—the topics you both understand. Maybe it’s philosophy, maybe sports. You have at least one thing in common with the majority of humanity.

We become frustrated when we force conversations. We speak about things that are not relevant to the audience. We want them to experience the movie theatre of our minds. There’s only one problem—most of them don’t care. They’re living in their own movie theatre.

Yeah…but Major. I need to talk about political theory! I need to talk about the illuminati! Well, you can…just like you can do anything in life. But you’ll be frustrated. You’ll find yourself alone, even when you’re in a crowd.

Learn to limit your conversations. The more you do this, the happier you’ll be.

2 thoughts on “Learn to Limit Your Conversations

  1. Interesting blog, what a pleasant surprise.

    Limiting conversations. I have been working on this with my grandma. She’s 85 but she’s still sharp and very opinionated. I wasn’t raised around her but I’ve recently moved to the east coast to be closer to her and other family. Her and I are very different. She’s old fashioned and politically conservative and well, I’m not. But for the most part, at least so far, I have let her do most of the talking whenever she wants to get political. She might have a heart attack if she knew what my views were, bless her heart.

    1. Thank you for sharing. Family is always the trickiest in this regard. I always let the political winds of the moment pass, which always seems to work to my advantage at a later date.

Leave a Reply

